My Jericho

Have you ever had a crazy encounter with the Lord?

You’re sitting there, minding your own business and you feel the nudge to go grab your Bible or a devotional or just take a moment to pray.  When you’ve fought with yourself long enough to realize that no, it wasn’t just you having a random thought, it really was the Lord nudging you to move, you get up and go find a quiet place and obey.

Then He hits you.  Hard.

This happened to me in the beginning of August.  The third day of August to be exact.

I was minding my own business when I felt the Lord nudge me to find a quiet place and do the Bible study I was working through, Believing God by Beth Moore.  So, after a moment of soul searching, I knew that I needed to obey and I needed to do so right then.  So I did.  I’ve learned over the years that if the Lord tells me to do something and I don’t listen right away, or at least as soon as I can, then I’m in big trouble.

I settled down with my Bible, markers, and study in hand and opened the page to see that the topic of the day’s lesson was Joshua and Jericho.  “Okay,” I thought, “I know this story.  It’s a great story and I’m sure God has awesome stuff to tell me today.”  Little did I know that what He had to tell me that day wasn’t something that I could shrug off.  In fact, it took me 3 whole weeks to complete the task He set before me that day…

If you have never heard the story of Joshua when he faced Jericho, you can find it in Joshua 5:13-6:27.

Joshua encountered an angel who told him that the Lord had a message for him.  That message included God telling Joshua that He had given Jericho into his hands; in other words, God was telling Joshua that he already had victory over the city of Jericho, which also happened to have a massive wall around it and gates that allowed no one in or out.  God also told him the plan for victory: walking around the city.  Not fighting or preparing a sneak attack.  God simply told them to walk around the city once per day, for six days, and then seven times on the seventh day with the priests blowing trumpets and then give up a final shout.  Then, after all of that, the Lord told him that the walls around the city would fall in so that Joshua and the Israelites could rush in.

When they obeyed and carried the ark of the covenant around the city once per day for six days and then seven times on the seventh day and offered up a shout, that is exactly what happened.  The walls fell in and Jericho was taken.

The reason Joshua and the Israelites were faced with Jericho was because it was directly in the way of their promised land.  To get to the promised land, they first had to get through Jericho.

As I read through the lesson, I was prompted to take a moment and ask God what my Jericho was.  So that’s exactly what I did.

I put the Bible study aside, closed my eyes, and took a deep breath.  Then I saw it.  I was standing high upon a cliff overlooking a vast, desolate wasteland.  I searched the desert for a city surrounded by a round wall (because that’s how I envision Jericho must have looked).  I looked, but saw nothing.  I even tried squinting my eyes, but again saw nothing.

Then, suddenly, the Lord was standing on the cliff by my side.  I asked Him to show me where my Jericho was; to point out the city and then name it for me.  I knew my Jericho wasn’t actually a city that I needed to walk around.  Instead, I figured the city I would find in the desert would be a symbol of something else and the Lord would name the city with what it was that I needed to pray circles around.

The Lord stretched out His hand and pointed into the distance.  I looked, but I saw nothing but the desert laid out before me.  He continued to point and said, “Look right down My arm to the point of My index finger and see what I see.”  I leaned over; so close that I could see straight down His arm.  He was pointing into the distance, beyond the vast desert before us.  I could see mountains in the distance, but that was all.  “No, Gentry, not with eyes of man” He said, “Look with eyes of faith! See? See it My way!”

Then I finally saw it.

The mountains weren’t just mountains, they were my promised land!  Those mountains represented a previous vision the Lord had given me: when Brandon and I kneeled to pray, closed our eyes, and then arose from our prayer as an elderly couple, years into our marriage.  “That is your promised land,” the Lord said.  “This vast, desolate desert you see before you is your Jericho.”

Yes.  the entire desert.  As in all of it.  As in a wasteland.

“Lord, how in the world am I supposed to circle the entire desert?” I asked.

I opened my eyes.  I knew exactly how to circle a vast desert.

I found a piece of cardboard, a sharpie, a ruler, and a box cutter and I went to work.  I measured the piece of cardboard and cut it into a 250mm x 250mm square.  Then, I labeled it, “Jericho: a vast distance: 250 miles.”

That desert in my vision was indeed a vast, desolate wasteland, but that wasteland represented the vast distance between myself and the man I love.  The distance which has been in place for more than four years and seemed to desire to stay that way for many more years, that was my desert.  It had plagued me. That distance of 250 miles caused me so many days of worry and anxiety and stress and even depression at times.  It was the source of so many problems, and yet I knew the Lord had that distance in place for a purpose.   But I had gotten to the point of being so completely done with the distance between us and I was more than happy to circle that distance in the hopes of it crumbling.

I had grown so tired of the distance.  So tired of only seeing Brandon for one weekend out of each month, save those nice times when we were at camp or able to visit after three weeks or even two at times.  I had prayed so many prayers outlining just how tired I was of the distance and asking God to lessen it.  And it seemed in that moment that He may have finally heard all of my prayers and finally decided it was time to let the distance crumble.

I was dedicated.  For three weeks I laid that piece of cardboard on the floor and silently walked around it as I prayed in my mind for six days and on the seventh, I walked around it seven times while praying aloud and claiming the victory of my promised land even in the face of my Jericho.

During that time, God gave me a very specific prayer to pray, which aided in my circling.  That prayer had to do with asking the Lord to hasten the day that Brandon and I would finally be able to be together.  At the time, it looked as if we would have to wait another three to four years to be together because of school and work and the insanity of life.  So I gladly prayed the hastening prayer that the Lord gave me.

At the end of those three weeks, the Lord answered my prayer for hastening and cut the projected time we would have apart in half.  Praise Jesus!  He opened doors and opened our minds to see His plan for us.  He opened our eyes to see with eyes of faith, rather than simply seeing what was placed before me in this life with the eyes of man.

I found my Jericho.  I circled my Jericho.  In reality, I still am circling my Jericho, but victory is already mine and I can see my promised land looming on the horizon.

Now it’s your turn.  Take some time and ask the Lord what is standing in the way of your promised land.  Identify your Jericho and then circle it until the walls shatter into oblivion.  You might just be surprised by what He shows you, but I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Gentry Bass

About Ginchb

My name is Gentry and I am not your average girl. I am fully aware that most people will tell you the exact same thing, and I'm glad that they do. No one should feel as though they are just another carbon copy of someone that came before them. So here's why I'm different. I was diagnosed with Vascular Ehlers Danlos Syndrome (VEDS) in September of 2015. I am also currently a Children's Ministry Director as well as a full time college student looking towards Graduate school next year to get my masters in Speech Language Pathology. I started this blog in the hopes of giving people a new outlook on life or to help people better understand life with VEDS. Now, please don't think that VEDS completely defines my life. I'm still who I was before I was diagnosed, I just have to do some things a little differently. God is still God and He is still in control, so what on this earth do I have to fear?

Posted on November 10, 2016, in Faith, Long Distance Relationship, Prayer, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like *Birthday Anticipation Anxiety* to me!! Hugs, Paps

    On Thu, Nov 10, 2016 at 3:48 PM, A Path Less Traveled: wrote:

    > Ginchb posted: “Have you ever had a crazy encounter with the Lord? You’re > sitting there, minding your own business and you feel the nudge to go grab > your Bible or a devotional or just take a moment to pray. When you’ve > fought with yourself long enough to realize that” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

