Finally

If you would like to read the rest of our story, you can find the highlights of our four year journey up to this point here.

Allow me to set the scene for you: I was sitting on the couch and Brandon walked into the room.  It was such a typical, mundane act and yet it filled me with a shock of joy that I couldn’t contain.  Before I was able to suppress it, a brilliant smile broke the stillness of my face.  As he walked toward me, Brandon cocked his head and a slow smile spread across his face as well.  “What?” he asked.  “Nothing” I responded.  But then I really allowed myself to think about it.  As he sat beside me, I leaned my head onto his shoulder and quietly said, “I’m gonna marry you one day.”

Now, this happened about a year ago, and whereas it was most assuredly the first time I had spoken it aloud with such confidence, it had been a topic of quick conversation and much thought over the years prior to that moment.  However, even though Brandon and I had discussed it, the idea of actually marrying him and spending the rest of my life with him didn’t fully sink into my consciousness until that moment.  Until I saw him walk into the room and realized that he was indeed the man I would one day marry.

‘Maybe I’ll marry him one day‘ was nothing more than a fleeting thought in my subconsciousness that continued to make itself known time and time again, with more frequency the longer we were together.  But, me being me, I always tried to push it away and I never truly let it become a solid reality.  Instead, I would quickly follow thoughts of my future with things like, ‘but anything could happen!  Who knows what God’s will is for us.  Maybe it’s too good to be true and He’s just using this time we have together to prepare us for our separate futures…’  All completely valid thoughts!

If you’re thinking that I’m insane, especially after three years with the guy, then you would agree with pretty much everyone else I talked to.  Needless to say, that way of thinking didn’t last forever.  However, when I came to the realization that Brandon was indeed my future husband, things got rough.

I knew he was “the one.”  I knew I would marry him one day.  The problem was, we weren’t at all ready at that time for the next step in our journey: engagement.  So, the days went by as if in slow motion and my heart ached for the day we could finally move forward in our relationship because I was so tired of everything seeming so stagnant.

It was during this time that the Lord confronted me and tested my faith in His timing by helping me to overcome the quick, bitter pang I felt each moment I scrolled through social media and found another of my friends engaged or married, or even just moving forward in their relationship at all.  It took some time, but God is good and, thankfully, He is also patient.  I turned my bitter spirit, covered by a facade of happiness, into a true joy for those around me who had finally found the person they would love forever.  Then, He helped me to see that their joy in that moment and my prayers for them could fuel my joy in the waiting.  Don’t ask me how it makes sense, because it doesn’t in my mind; but God is greater and He helped me to see that in this particular season, just as I had numerous times before.

Almost a year later, I am happy to say that the Lord heard my prayer and has answered with more blessings and joy than I could have imagined!

Brandon and my friend Katie literally had to drag me to look at engagement rings.  And when I say drag, I mean that they lured me to the mall and then casually shoved me into a jewelry store against my will…  They’re the best… (note the sarcastic undertone)  But, I eventually warmed up to the idea and found a general style that I liked.  The thing is, I absolutely refused to pick a ring myself or even narrow it down too much, even though I had one in mind.  I wanted Brandon to pick my ring, and boy did he pick it!  Literally.  The exact one that I couldn’t get out of my mind.

On October 22nd, Brandon surprised me with a visit and also picked up my ring (which was the cause of the surprise visit).  Yes, I knew he was getting my ring, I just didn’t know which one it was at the time.  I was actually the one who carried the bag with the box with my ring in it from the car into the house.  Where it sat.  In my room.  Taunting me.  All weekend…  He’s nice like that…

So anyway, I knew he had the ring.  I knew I would say yes.  Now all I had to do was wait.  But praise the good Lord in Heaven above because I only had to wait a little while!

And so do you!  Next time I’ll tell you all about the proposal, but for now you’ll just have to wait!

 

 

Haha just kidding!!!  I’ll go ahead and tell you now.

On November 5th, my friend, Kayla, got married and she ever so lovingly allowed me to be one of her bridesmaids.  (Congratulations Kayla and Chad!  You’ve officially been married a week now!!)  Brandon came up for the wedding and we were able to dress up and have a fun night celebrating with everyone at their wedding (for future reference, some of those in attendance included: my best friend Katie, her boyfriend and my good friend Coryghan, my sister Lauren, and her boyfriend Josh).  Brandon even asked me to dance for the first time!  It was perfect, I was shocked, and the song was A Thousand Years by Christina Perri.

Katie, Coryghan, Lauren, Josh, Brandon, and I had all planned to go to dinner together the following day.  One thing you need to realize is that we aren’t the kind of people that typically dress up and go do things.  We’re more of a ‘let’s just be comfortable’ kind of group.  So, later that evening, when Coryghan told me to make sure that I dressed nicely for our triple date, I began to get suspicious…

My next moment of suspicion came when Brandon decided that we would ride to dinner with Coryghan and Katie, but we were going to make a pit stop (which just so happens to be WAY out of the way) at camp to see Lauren and Josh beforehand because Coryghan wanted to hand out there for a little while.  (Brandon did really well.  He made sure every piece of the plan came from someone other than him, but because I knew it was coming, I was suspicious.)

First off, remember, we aren’t really people who dress up just because.  Second off, no one ever dresses up at camp unless they’re trying to impress a boy they have a crush on or they’re at a wedding or other event.  In this case, neither was the cause.  Or, at least, that’s what I was supposed to believe.  I didn’t.  I knew then that Brandon was probably going to propose that day at some point.  Besides, where better to start the next part of our lives?

Brandon and I met at Camp Chula Vista in June of 2012.

Brandon asked me to marry him at Camp Chula Vista on November 6, 2016.

From the moment we stepped out of the car, I saw a picture that begged to be taken.  So I grabbed my phone, walked down the hill, and almost laid down completely in the grass just to get the perfect picture of the swing.  Then we moved closer to the lake and I started taking pictures of Katie and Coryghan as well as Josh and Lauren as we meandered around the lake.

There were many fantastic pictures taken that day, but my favorite one wasn’t taken by me.  It was taken at four different angles, with four different cameras, by four different friends.  It involves the man of my dreams on a knee, offering me a ring as a symbol of his love and devotion; as a symbol of the long life we will have together.  It involves a proposal, not only of marriage, but of trials and difficulty and a promise to stand together no matter what we face.  It involves a boy and a girl, ready to face whatever this life gives them with Christ leading the way.  This is that picture.

img_5570

He took me back to where our story began.  And so, the next chapter in our story begins much the same way as the first: a guy and a girl at camp, led by the grace of God, surrounded by friends, destined to love each other more tomorrow than they thought possible today.

As you can imagine, I said yes.

Your prayers would be very appreciated.  A long distance relationship is rough, but a long distance engagement is sure to test us beyond what we have previously known.  Planning a wedding while in school and working will be difficult as well, but we believe that this timing is of the Lord and we are confident that He will provide all of our needs and supply us with abundant joy and strength to face each mountain in our path.

Thank you so much to everyone who has helped us and encouraged us over the years.  It means the world to us and we pray the Lord blesses you beyond all measure!  Y’all are awesome and you have blessed my socks off with the level of support you have offered us.  So thank you.  A million times. Thank you.

Gentry Bass

About Ginchb

My name is Gentry and I am not your average girl. I am fully aware that most people will tell you the exact same thing, and I'm glad that they do. No one should feel as though they are just another carbon copy of someone that came before them. So here's why I'm different. I was diagnosed with Vascular Ehlers Danlos Syndrome (VEDS) in September of 2015. I am also currently a Children's Ministry Director as well as a full time college student looking towards Graduate school next year to get my masters in Speech Language Pathology. I started this blog in the hopes of giving people a new outlook on life or to help people better understand life with VEDS. Now, please don't think that VEDS completely defines my life. I'm still who I was before I was diagnosed, I just have to do some things a little differently. God is still God and He is still in control, so what on this earth do I have to fear?

Posted on November 13, 2016, in Faith, Long Distance Relationship, Relationships, Summer Camp and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This was your best note yet. Very readable, you stuck to your theme, you did not allow some other topics to distract you and the reader, everything flowed easily, and it all made sense. Great job!! I am proud of your writing skills, and this will benefit you substantially in graduate school. You write much better than I did at your age.

    I could tell for years that you chose to place a distracting burden on your shoulders, and in your heart. Knowing how to deal with it or the behavioral changes you needed to make, was a dilemma for you. I know you still have your graduate school, new job, old job, health situation, and church responsibilities, but your personal & love life should no longer be the burden it was for you.

    Anytime question marks can be eliminated from our lives, we typically have a positive behavioral response to it. Your life will be much easier now. Congrats on your ring! Hugs, Paps

    Like

Leave a Reply

