An Early Morning (Wedding Day Part 1)

I woke up and looked over at the clock.  Again…

Sigh…

I rubbed my eyes, turned over, and tried to go to sleep.  Again…

It still wasn’t late enough in the morning to be waking up.  Even if it was my wedding day.  Even if there were a million things to be done.

We had a great time at our rehearsal dinner the night before.  I even stayed up much later than I usually do, playing games and watching the boys throw things across the room at each other, hoping that I would be tired enough to sleep until a decent hour…

It didn’t work.

So, there I was.  Staring at the ceiling of a hotel room with two of my bridesmaids asleep across the room, hoping beyond hope that if I closed my eyes one more time I would finally be able to sleep.

The sun isn’t even up yet…  I do NOT need to get out of this bed right now…

Then again, I do need to finish writing my vows…  And the sky is starting to lighten a little bit…

That was all the convincing I needed at that point.  With another sigh I pushed the blankets away and did my best to be quiet.  I almost left my phone in the room.  Not because I forgot it, but because I truly didn’t want it.  But then I began imagining how terrorized everyone would be when they realized that the bride was not only M.I.A., but had also left her phone behind…

I giggled to myself as I grabbed my phone, gathered my things, slipped on some shoes, and headed to the swing.

IMG_20180527_063159612_HDR

The lake was still and the swing was damp.  There were clouds covering the sky and a promise of rain, but as I sat on that swing finishing my vows, the clouds began to dissipate and patches of blue began peaking through.

I closed the journal, three years in the making, that contained my vows and took a deep breath.  I relished these few moments, free from the chaos of wedding planning, and found peace in the knowledge that the Lord was orchestrating every step.

After about an hour or so on the swing, I knew my time was coming to an end.  My phone finally buzzed, so I gathered my things and began my trek back to the real world.  Back to my wedding day.

*               *               *

After some breakfast, a shower, and a rushed attempt to blow dry my hair, a phenomenal young woman masterfully made me over and in moments I was beautiful.  The hoop skirt was donned (attached to a pair of nike shorts by 20 mini gold safety pins in true “Gentry fashion”) and my mom helped me into the dress.  Our absolutely incredible photographers, Shannon Dale and Gary Franklin of Shannon Dale Photography, arrived and suddenly the morning was gone.

I wrangled the hoop and made it into the back of my mom’s truck, ever so lovingly named “Bumpersnoot.”  As we drove down to the valley at Camp Chula Vista to have our first look at the swing, my mind traveled back to the many times that same swing has played a part in our relationship.  It’s where we met.  It’s where I watched him wrestle in the mud during Tower of Tubes.  It’s where countless conversations took place.  It’s where he proposed.  It’s where I first saw him on our wedding day.

DSC01182

Finally. I breathed, as my sister grabbed the back of my dress and we made our way across the valley and towards the man of my dreams.  My husband.  Facing the lake.  Waiting for me.

gby0076

My heart was beating furiously and I know for a fact that my face betrayed my anxiety.  I have pictures to prove it.  But as I touched his arm and he turned toward me, all I felt was joy and relief.

 

gby0127

Finally.  We made it.

 

-Gentry

Leave a comment